Nicholas Britell and Hanz Zimmer Take Home First Major Wins at The Hollywood Music in Media Awards (HMMA)

The Hollywood Music in Media Awards (HMMA) are the first domino to fall in the long award season. The group that encompases such a wide range of scores and songs into the show, from genres like horror and fantasy to “independent film ” (lol). It’s a nice celebration of music in Hollywood.

As for predicting the Oscars, it’s fairly hit-or-miss and not something to deeply consider. Two of the last five years has the HMMA predicted the eventual Oscar winner (Black Panther and Joker). And in a year with so many viable candidates in the running, the winners translating into Oscar success is up in the air.

Score: Feature Film

WINNER: Don’t Look Up (Netflix), Nicholas Britell

  • King Richard (Warner Bros),  Kris Bowers
  • Nightmare Alley (Searchlight Pictures), Nathan Johnson
  • No Time to Die (MGM), Hans Zimmer
  • Stillwater (Focus Features), Mychael Danna
  • The French Dispatch (Searchlight Pictures), Alexandre Desplat
  • The Last Duel (Walt Disney Studios), Harry Gregson-Williams                                                    
  • The Power of the Dog (Netflix), Jonny Greenwood

Notes: Nicholas Britell wins his second HMMA award (won for Moonlight in 2016). The win here is significant because he gets a win over Jonny Greenwood, Kris Bowers, and the three time HMMA winner and Oscar favorite Alexandre Desplat. However, Dune wasn’t eligible in this category.

Score: Animated Film

WINNER: The Addams Family 2 (MGM) – Mychael Danna and Jeff Danna

  • Spirit Untamed (Universal), Amie Doherty
  • The Loud House Movie (Netflix), Philip White
  • Vivo (Sony Pictures), Alex Lacamoire
  • Luca (Walt Disney Studios), Dan Romer
  • The Mitchells vs. The Machines (Iconic Events), Mark Mothersbaugh

Notes: Big night for Mychael Danna and Jeff Danna, who were double nominated and get a surprise win over Disney and Netflix films.

Score: Science Fiction/Fantasy

WINNER: Dune (Warner Bros), Hans Zimmer

  • Black Widow (Walt Disney Studios), Lorne Balfe
  • Cinderella (Amazon),  Mychael Danna & Jessica Rose Weiss
  • Shang-Chi and The Legend of the Ten Rings (Walt Disney Studios), Joel P West
  • The Suicide Squad (Warner Bros.), John Murphy

Notes: Hanz Zimmer is going to be a force this awards season and winning here was a slam dunk for Dune. I’m looking forward to seeing Dune match up with the bigger Oscar contenders.

Score: Horror

WINNER: A Quiet Place II (Paramount Pictures), Marco Beltrami

  • Army of the Dead (Netflix), Tom Holkenborg
  • In the Earth (Neon), Clint Mansell
  • Last Night in Soho (Focus Features),  Steven Price
  • Old (Universal Pictures), Trevor Gureckis

Notes: I love that Horror scores get their own separate category. Marco Beltrami is trending towards an Oscar win in the next few years and his win here is well deserved. The Last Night in Soho getting some recognition is nice too.

Score: Documentary 

WINNER: Julia (CNN Films), Rachel Portman

  • 14 Peaks: Nothing is Impossible (Netflix), Nainita Desai
  • Becoming Cousteau (Picturehouse), Daniel Bensi and Saunder Jurriaans
  • Operation Varsity Blues (Netflix), Leopold Ross, Nick Chuba, Atticus Ross
  • Oslo (HBO), Jeff Russo and Zoë Keating
  • Strip Down, Rise Up (Netflix), Lili Haydn
  • The Rescue (NatGeo), Daniel Pemberton

Score: Independent Film 

WINNER: C’mon C’mon (The Searchers), Bryce Dessner & Aaron Dessner

  • CODA (Apple TV+), Marius de Vries
  • Nine Days (SPE), Antonio Pinto
  • The Card Counter (Focus Features), Robert Levon Been & Giancarlo Vulcano
  • The Green Knight (A24), Daniel Hart
  • The Tragedy of Macbeth (A24), Carter Burwell

Notes: Without seeing the film, I’ve been lucky enough to listen to Dressner’s score and I’m floored by the work. A sleeper pick in a DEEP original score category.

Score: International 

WINNER: Parallel Mothers (Sony Pictures Classics), Alberto Iglesias

  • A Cross in the Desert (Aleksandrija Film), Ana Krstajic
  • Beneath The Banyan Tree (Lerfilm), Wei-San Hsu
  • Blast Beat (Vertical Entertainment), David Murillo R.
  • El Hoyo En La Cerca (Cine Canibal), Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein

Notes: Pedro Almodovar adds so much style with the composers he picks for his films.  This will likely be the end of the line for Alberto Iglesias, but nice win for the film.

Song: Feature

WINNER: “No Time to Die” from NO TIME TO DIE (MGM) – Written by Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell. Performed by Billie Eilish

  • “Be Alive” from KING RICHARD (Warner Bros.) – Written by Dixson and Beyoncé Knowles-Carter. Performed by Beyoncé
  • “Every Letter” from CYRANO (United Artists), Written by Aaron Dessner and Bryce Dessner, Matt Berninger and Carin Besser. Performed by Peter Dinklage, Haley Bennett & Kelvin Harrison Jr.
  • “Guns Go Bang” from THE HARDER THEY FALL (Netflix), Written by Jeymes Samuel, Scott Mescudi (Kid Cudi), Shawn Carter (Jay-Z). Performed by Kid Cudi and JAY-Z
  • “Here I Am (Singing My Way Home)” from RESPECT (MGM), Written by Carole King, Jennifer Hudson & Jamie Hartman. Performed by Jennifer Hudson
  • “Just Look Up” from DON’T LOOK UP (Netflix),  Written by Nicholas Britell, Ariana Grande, Scott Mescudi and Tara Stinson. Performed by Ariana Grande and Kid Cudi
  • “My Father’s Daughter” from FLAG DAY (MGM), Written by Glen Hansard & Eddie Vedder. Performed by Olivia Vedder

Notes: The field here was filled with potential Oscar players and the highest profile song takes it home.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s